2019 WAESPAA Annual Awards Night 

Held on 15th November at the Crown Ballroom, the event hosted staff and invited guests from across the state with nominations across all categories. Thank you to our 2019 Connected Partners and to each of our 2019 WAESPAA Annual Award Winners.


2018 WAESPAA Annual Awards Night 

Held on 16th November at the Perth Convention Centre, the event hosted almost 500 staff and invited guests from across the state with nominations across all categories. Thank you to our 2018 Connected Partners and to each of our 2018 WAESPAA Annual Award Winners:

Catherine Kapiteyn

12. Schoolzine Logo

Leadership Award - Dr Catherine Kapiteyn, Burbridge School

Catherine is a dynamic, compassionate School Principal who inspires all staff to excel. An outstanding educator of students with disabilities who has utilised her exceptional leadership skills to develop Burbridge School as a leader in educating students with complex disabilities.

Warnbro CHS ESC

School of the Year Award - Warnbro Community High School Education Support Centre


Warnbro CHS ESC.jpg We strive to provide the very best education for students with a disability and passionately believe in our students’ capacity to learn and be successful. We have a culture of high expectations, high quality teaching and learning and optimal wellbeing.  Our supportive school community supports strong pastoral care relationships and nurtures a sense of belonging and safety. Our focus is on maximising students’ confidence, self-esteem, resilience and sense of self, while nurturing our students to flourish and become their best self, academically, emotionally and socially.

Mike Fletcher

Manager Corporate Services/Support Staff Award - Mr Mike Fletcher, South Ballajura Education Support Centre


Working as the gardener at the campus for 3 years, the nominee has implemented Technology based sessions for students enrolled at the Education Support Centre. These engaging sessions are hands-on, and have had a positive impact on student behaviour, enthusiasm and attendance. ANZUK logo.jpg 


Jennifer Bohnet

10. Firetech logo 3

Non-Teaching Staff (Years K - 3) Award - Ms Jennifer Bohnet, Kenwick school

Jennifer is a professional and passionate Education Assistant (EA). She began working at Kenwick School in 2014. She is an enthusiastic and friendly Education Assistant who is supportive to all students and staff at Kenwick School.


Colleen Hewat Lawrence

Non-Teaching Staff (Years 4 – 6) Award - Mrs Colleen Hewat-Lawrence, Malibu School

8. AUTISM WA logo

Colleen is a highly reflective education assistant whose dedication to the students and loyalty to the school that sees her constantly go above and beyond so that each and every student gets the very best opportunities every day. A real power house of energy who gives her all and never any less. 

Tracey Kowalski

Non-Teaching Staff (Years 7 – 9) Award - Mrs Tracy Kowalski, Kenwick School


Tracy is an experienced Education Assistant who has specialised in her work in a school garden program. She has worked with students with disabilities by creating sensory experiences throughout the garden. She has introduced students to the importance of caring for animals and the environment. 

Janine Robertson

Non-Teaching Staff (Years 10 – 12) Award – Ms Janine Robertson

11. CareMonkey logo

Janine is a passionate educator with a drive to create authentic and engaging experiences which support student development and health and wellbeing. Her passion and drive aligns to creating a ‘Future Without Limits’ across both the classroom and community environment, inclusive of Workplace Learning. 

Josie Vanweerden

Teacher Early Childhood (Years K - 3) Award - Mrs Josie Vanweerden, Carson Street School


Josie completed B. Ed (Early Childhood/Special Needs) in 2014. She gained experience through Leeming Childcare Centre, relief work and as Pre-Primary Teacher at Banksia Park Primary School. In 2016 she joined Carson Street School to follow her ultimate passion of working with children with special needs. 


Sandra McNeil

Teacher Primary (Years 4 – 6) Award - Mrs Sandra McNeil, Cloverdale Education Support Centre


Sandra is a determined and passionate Teacher who strives to consistently perfect her practice. She's committed to inspiring change and assumes that every child has the potential to become an effective communicator and to participate meaningfully and successfully with their family, school and community.

Viki Kannan

Teacher Secondary (Years 7 – 9) Award - Ms Viki Kannan, Armadale Education Support Centre


Throughout her career Viki has been passionate about student’s needs, and she seeks to support students beyond the classroom. This passion for education especially for those with special needs, motivates her desire to see students succeed and have the opportunity to reach their full potential. 

Judi Hickey James

Teacher Senior Secondary (Years 10 – 12) Award - Ms. Judi Hickey-Janes, Cannington Community Education Support Centrelandsdale

Judi is a passionate exceptional teacher who works tirelessly. Her background in teaching, law and politics brings a wide knowledge base and experience to CCESC. Her positivity, professionalism and strong work ethic has made her a valuable role model for her students to reach their full potential.

Aaron Prior

Early Career Teacher (first 5 years of teaching) Award - Mr Aaron Prior, Rockingham Beach Education Support Centre


Aaron’s career began with a Graduate Diploma in Secondary Education in Visual Art and Special Needs Education. Three years on he has completed a Graduate Certificate in Special Needs Education with a passion for educating students with disabilities and complex communication needs in the primary years. 


Click here for the 2018 WAESPAA Awards Nominee booklet

WAESPAA 2017 Awards Night Brochure.pdf

2018 Professional Teaching Council of WA (PTCWA) Awards 

Congratulations to Linda Lane who was nominated by WAESPAA for the PTCWA Outstanding Professional Service Award. Linda was presented with this prestigious award on Wednesday 25th October alongside peers who were also recognised from other Education Associations. 

Linda has made a positive contribution towards enhancing educational outcomes for students with special needs and in supporting the members of WAESPAA in the roles of committee member, treasurer and president.  With great respect and pride we congratulate Linda as a valued colleague and a vital contributor to our Association members, our students and to our sector. It is this service we choose to celebrate and in this context that the PTCWA Outstanding Professional Service Awards has been awarded.

WAESPAA previous Winners of the PTCWA Outstanding Professional Service Awards

2017 – Mr John Exeter

2016 – Ms Fiona Forbes 

2015 – Mr Ted Kelley (Retired Life Member)

2014 – Ms Margaret Rutherford (Retired Life Member)

2013 – Ms Eve Lucas (Life Member)

2012 – Mr Andew Wilson (Life Member)

2009 – Ms Marlene Brown (Retired Life Member)

2007 – Ms Jenny Cole (Retired Life Member)

For more information about the PTCWA, please see their webpage

C/- Gwynne Park ESC
11 Tijuana Road
Brookdale WA 6112

Send us a Tweet @waespaa

Please fill in your details and a member of WAESPAA will be in touch